Saying to your Brother/Sister: “For you is your religion and for me is my religion”

In the name of Allaah, the Beneficent, Most Merciful. May peace and blessings be upon our Prophet Muhammad, his family and companions. As for what follows;

Question: When I advise some sisters, may Allaah guide us all, they respond by saying: “For you is your religion and for me is my religion.” Is it permissible for them to say this? And what should we advise them with?

Sheikh Bin Baaz, may Allaah have mercy upon him, says: “This is impermissible to say. This is a form of conceitedness regarding accepting the truth. This statement (in reality) means “mind your buisness”, this is its meaning however it is incorrect. The Prophet, may peace and blessings be upon him, said this to the disbelievers. As for saying this to the Muslims, then no because their religion is one, (which is) singling out Allaah alone and worshipping Him. So it shouldn’t be said “For you is your religion and for me is my religion” except to the disbelievers as the Prophet, may peace be upon him, said to the disbelievers of Quraish and the polytheists. As it comes in the beginning of the chapter “The Disbelievers”:

“Say, O disbelievers, I worship not that which you worship.”[109:1-2]

They worshipped idols while the Prophet, peace be upon him, worshipped Allaah alone. So you shouldn’t say this statement to your muslim brother/sister. Our religion is one. If he advises you then say: “May Allaah reward you”, “May Allaah grant me success”, “Ask Allaah to guide me” and the like. If your brother says to you for example: “Safeguard the prayers in congregation”, “My brother, be dutiful to your parents”, “My brother beware of backbititng and tale-carrying.”

Simply say: “May Allaah reward you”, “May Allaah aid us”, “Supplicate for me”, but don’t say: “For you is your religion and for me is my religion” because that is improper and it contains conceitedness.

We ask Allaah for well-being.”

http://www.sahab.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=121384

About Abu Fouzaan Qaasim
American student studying in the Islaamic University of Medinah from Chester,PA.

Leave a Reply

