The Repentance of a Homosexual

In the name of Allaah the Most Beneficent, Most Merciful. May peace and blessing be upon our Prophet Muhammad, his family and companions. As for what follows;

[With great sadness, homosexuality is something that is becoming prevalent in the societies where Muslims live throughout the world. When I came across this article on the Sheikh’s website I thought of how important this topic needs to be addressed and dealt with. For more information on this please read The Perilous Nature of Homosexuality. May Allaah protect the Muslims from all evil and wicked affairs.]

Questioner: “Asalamu ‘alaykum wa rahmatullaahi wabarakaatuhu; I am a 21 year old youngman who’s been afflicted with homosexuality since the age of 8. Due to my father not giving me the proper upbringing (I needed). Now I am living in a state of depression and regret from my prior actions to the point that I think about commtting suicide and Allaah’s refuge is sought. What makes matters worst is that my family wants me to get married. Therefore I need you to instruct me to the correct path and the best remedy for this problem that I am facing so I can be relieved from this life of pain that I’m experiencing. May Allaah reward you with good.”

Sheikh ‘Abdul ‘Azeez ibn Baaz, may Allaah have mercy upon him and rest him in Jannah, says:

“Wa ‘alaykum salaam wa rahmatullaahi wabarakaatuhu; As for what follows; I ask Allaah to bestow upon you well-being and safety from that which you’ve mentioned. No doubt that this is a heinous crime however its cure has been made easy and all praise is due to Allaah. It is by racing forth to sincere repentance and that comes about by:

1– Regret from that which has occured.

2– Ceasing from committing the sin.

3– Firm resolve not to ever return to it again.

You must also accompany upright companions and stay far away from evil ones. You should also try and get married. Rejoice with success and a praiseworthy outcome if you are truthful in your repentance. Because Allaah says:

“And turn to Allaah in repentance, all of you, O believers, that you might be successful.” [24:31]

And He says:

“O you who believe repent to Allaah with a sincere repentance.” [66:8]

And the Prophet, may peace and blessings be upon him, said: “Repentance (destroys the sins) that were committed before it.”

He also says: “The repenter from sins is like one who has no sins.”

May Allaah grant you success, rectify your heart and actions and bless you with a sincere repentance and righteous companions.

Was salaamu ‘alaykum wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuhu.”

http://www.binbaz.org.sa/mat/1881

About Abu Fouzaan Qaasim
American student studying in the Islaamic University of Medinah from Chester,PA.

Leave a Reply

